Mutual Fund Regulator in India

Who is the regulator of Mutual Fund in India?

Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) – SEBI is the primary regulator of mutual fund industry in India. All the mutual funds must register themselves with the SEBI. Mutual Funds are governed under a set of regulations called Securities and Exchange Board Of India (Mutual Funds) Regulations, 1996 which have been designed to protect the investors. Mutual funds can be penalised for violating norms.

In addition to SEBI, mutual funds need to abide by the regulations of following other regulators in a limited manner:

  1. Reserve Bank of India (RBI) – RBI acts as regulator of sponsors of bank-sponsored mutual funds. Mutual funds who deal in the money market need to get registered with the RBI. Mutual fund is not allowed to bring out a guaranteed/ fixed returns scheme without taking prior approval from RBI.
  2. Companies Act– Asset Management Company and Trustee Company are subject to the provisions of the Companies Act, 1956.
  3. Indian Trusts Act– As the mutual funds are formed as a public trusts under the Indian trusts Act, 1882, they have to abide by the provisions of the Indian Trusts Act, 1882.
  4. Ministry of Finance (MoF) – The MoF is the appellate authority under SEBI regulations. The finance ministry is the supervisor of the SEBI and the RBI. Appeals on the SEBI rulings relating to mutual funds can be made by the aggrieved parties to the MoF.
  5. Stock Exchange – It is required from the closed-end funds to list their units on a stock exchange. This listing is subject to provisions of the listing regulation of stock exchanges.

Upcoming Bank Holidays

2017 February 24 is a bank holiday in Chandigarh due to Mahashivratri.
2017 February 27 is a bank holiday in Sikkim due to Losar.
2017 March 03 is a bank holiday in Mizoram due to Chapchar Kut.
2017 March 12 is a bank holiday in Jammu And Kashmir due to Holi (Jammu Province Only).

 Quick IFSC Search
 Quick MICR Search
 Quick BSR Search
AB Bank Ltd ABN-AMRO Bank N.V Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank Airtel Payments Bank Limited
Allahabad Bank American Express Banking Corp Andhra Bank Antwerp Diamond Bank NV
AXIS Bank Bandhan Bank Limited Bank Of America Bank Of Bahrain & Kuwait B.S.C
Bank Of Baroda Bank Of Ceylon Bank Of India Bank Of Maharashtra
Bank Of Nova Scotia Bank Of Tokyo Mitsubishi Limited Barclays Bank Bharatiya Mahila Bank
BNP Paribas Calyon Bank Canara Bank Catholic Syrian Bank Limited
Central Bank Of India Chinatrust Commercial Bank Limited Citi Bank City Union Bank Limited
Corporation Bank DBS Bank Ltd DCB Bank Limited Dena Bank
Deutsche Bank Dhanalakshmi Bank Equitas Small Finance Bank Limited Exim Bank Export Import Bank Of India
ICICI Bank IDBI Bank IDFC Bank Limited Indian Bank
Indian Overseas Bank IndusInd Bank Jammu And Kashmir Bank Limited JP Morgan Bank
JSC VTB Bank Karnataka Bank Limited Karur Vysya Bank Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited
Krung Thai Bank Public Co. Ltd Laxmi Vilas Bank Mashreqbank Psc Mizuho Corporate Bank Limited
Oman International Bank SAOG Oriental Bank Of Commerce Punjab And Sind Bank Punjab National Bank
RBL Bank Limited SBM Bank Mauritius Limited Shinhan Bank Societe Generale
Sonali Bank South Indian Bank Standard Chartered Bank State Bank Of Hyderabad
State Bank Of Patiala State Bank Of Bikaner And Jaipur State Bank Of India State Bank Of Mysore
State Bank Of Travancore Syndicate Bank Tamilnad Mercantile Bank Limited The Nainital Bank Limited
UBS AG UCO Bank Union Bank Of India United Bank Of India
Vijaya Bank Yes Bank Limited