What is PPF Account?

What is PPF Account?

PPF is an abbreviation of "Public Provident Fund". It is a scheme of the Central Government of India offered for investment which not only generates guaranteed returns but also gives tax rebate under section 80C of Income Tax.

Any resident Indian citizen can open a PPF account who can be a salaried employee, self-employed, businessman, professional or any other person. It can also be opened in minor's name in the capacity of guardian of the minor by submitting application on Form A.

Highlights of PPF account

  1. It was originated in 1968 under the Public Provident Fund ( PPF ) Scheme, 1968.
  2. It is considered to be the best debt option available after Employees Provident Fund.
  3. It is very safe investment as it is a completely government backed scheme.
  4. Availability of flexible investment options i.e. in instalments or lump sum.
  5. It is opened for a minimum period of 15 years which can further be extended for a minimum period of 5 years.
  6. Minimum deposit in PPF account is Rs 500/- and maximum Rs 1.5 lakh can be deposited in one PPF account every year.
  7. Only one PPF account can be opened in one name.
  8. It offers EEE tax benefit to the investors which means, the contributions made to PPF Account, the interest earned on the PPF account and the maturity proceeds of the PPF account are all tax exempted under Section 80C of Income Tax.
  9. It offers the highest rate of interest among all other general small saving schemes in India and the current interest rate on PPF account is 8.1% compounded annually. This interest rate is governed by Ministry of Finance from time to time.
  10. Interest earned in the PPF account can be redeemed only after maturity.
  11. Loan facility in PPF is available.
  12. PPF account canít be closed before maturity except on the occasion of death of the account holder.
  13. The balance in a PPF account cannot be attached under a court decree.

Upcoming Bank Holidays

2017 February 24 is a bank holiday in Chandigarh due to Mahashivratri.
2017 February 27 is a bank holiday in Sikkim due to Losar.
2017 March 03 is a bank holiday in Mizoram due to Chapchar Kut.
2017 March 12 is a bank holiday in Jammu And Kashmir due to Holi (Jammu Province Only).

 Quick IFSC Search
 Quick MICR Search
 Quick BSR Search
AB Bank Ltd ABN-AMRO Bank N.V Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank Airtel Payments Bank Limited
Allahabad Bank American Express Banking Corp Andhra Bank Antwerp Diamond Bank NV
AXIS Bank Bandhan Bank Limited Bank Of America Bank Of Bahrain & Kuwait B.S.C
Bank Of Baroda Bank Of Ceylon Bank Of India Bank Of Maharashtra
Bank Of Nova Scotia Bank Of Tokyo Mitsubishi Limited Barclays Bank Bharatiya Mahila Bank
BNP Paribas Calyon Bank Canara Bank Catholic Syrian Bank Limited
Central Bank Of India Chinatrust Commercial Bank Limited Citi Bank City Union Bank Limited
Corporation Bank DBS Bank Ltd DCB Bank Limited Dena Bank
Deutsche Bank Dhanalakshmi Bank Equitas Small Finance Bank Limited Exim Bank Export Import Bank Of India
ICICI Bank IDBI Bank IDFC Bank Limited Indian Bank
Indian Overseas Bank IndusInd Bank Jammu And Kashmir Bank Limited JP Morgan Bank
JSC VTB Bank Karnataka Bank Limited Karur Vysya Bank Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited
Krung Thai Bank Public Co. Ltd Laxmi Vilas Bank Mashreqbank Psc Mizuho Corporate Bank Limited
Oman International Bank SAOG Oriental Bank Of Commerce Punjab And Sind Bank Punjab National Bank
RBL Bank Limited SBM Bank Mauritius Limited Shinhan Bank Societe Generale
Sonali Bank South Indian Bank Standard Chartered Bank State Bank Of Hyderabad
State Bank Of Patiala State Bank Of Bikaner And Jaipur State Bank Of India State Bank Of Mysore
State Bank Of Travancore Syndicate Bank Tamilnad Mercantile Bank Limited The Nainital Bank Limited
UBS AG UCO Bank Union Bank Of India United Bank Of India
Vijaya Bank Yes Bank Limited