Pradhan Mantri Jan-Dhan Yojana (PMJDY)

What is Pradhan Mantri Jan-Dhan Yojana (PMJDY)?

With a dream of building a better India, India's prime minister Mr Narendra Modi has announced a new financial inclusion scheme called Pradhan Mantri Jan-Dhan Yojana (PMJDY) at the Red Fort on August 15, 2014 under which every family living in India must have a bank account. It is a national mission to provide an easy access to financial services like banking, bank accounts, remittance, loans and credits, insurance, pension, etc. to poor and needy people of India in an affordable manner at national level. The key idea behind this scheme is to end the financial untouchability in India, with the opening of appox.1.5 crore bank accounts of 7.5 crore families in one year across India. The scheme is particularly designed for those who have failed to get the benefits of various financial schemes being offered by the government of India.

Accounts which can be opened under PMJDY are Basic Savings Bank Deposit Accounts (BSBDA) which can be of zero balance.

Benefits of the Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana (PMJDY)

  • Each family will have a bank account opened in bank which is free of cost and zero balance (no need to maintain a minimum balance in the account).
  • In this bank account they can save their earnings easily.
  • Each family will be getting a RuPay debit card after opening of bank account to withdraw money from the account.
  • Access to pension, credit and insurance products. and also on working Saturdays i.e. Saturdays other than 2nd & 4th Saturdays.
  • Free accidental insurance cover of Rs. 1lakh.
  • Free life cover of Rs. 30000/-.
  • Interest on deposit.
  • Easy Transfer of money across India.
  • On keeping the bank account active and satisfactory operation of the account for 6 months, an overdraft limit of Rs 5000/- will be permitted in one account per family (preferably lady of the house).
  • Account holder can check and transfer balance by using a normal cell phone.
  • Direct Benefit Transfer to the accounts of the beneficiaries of government schemes.

According to official records, total 24.1 crore bank accounts have been opened till August 31, 2016 with an accumulated balance of Rs 42,094.24 crore.

About 19 crore of these accounts have been issued Rupay cards. More than 50% of total Jan Dhan accounts have the Aadhaar Card of the account holder linked to them making them eligible for all wage payments to NREGA workers through Direct Benefit Transfer and for direct subsidy payments of LPG.

Accounts with no balance in them were 76.81% of the total accounts opened under this scheme as on September 30, 2015 which have come down to only about 32% at the end of December, 2015.

List of banks who offer Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana (PMJDY)

Allahabad BankPublic Sector BankAndhra BankPublic Sector Bank
Axis Bank Ltd.Private Sector BankBank Of BarodaPublic Sector Bank
Bank Of IndiaPublic Sector BankBank Of MaharashtraPublic Sector Bank
Bhartiya Mahila BankPublic Sector BankCanara BankPublic Sector Bank
Central Bank Of IndiaPublic Sector BankCorporation BankPublic Sector Bank
Dena BankPublic Sector BankDhanlaxmi Bank Ltd.Private Sector Bank
Federal Bank Ltd.Private Sector BankHdfc Bank Ltd.Private Sector Bank
Icici Bank Ltd.Private Sector BankIdbi BankPublic Sector Bank
Indian BankPublic Sector BankIndusind Bank Ltd.Private Sector Bank
Karnataka Bank Ltd.Private Sector BankKotak Mahindra Bank Ltd.Private Sector Bank
Oriental Bank Of CommercePublic Sector BankPunjab & Sind BankPublic Sector Bank
Punjab National BankPublic Sector BankState Bank Of Bikaner & JaipurPublic Sector Bank
State Bank Of HyderabadPublic Sector BankState Bank Of IndiaPublic Sector Bank
State Bank Of MysorePublic Sector BankState Bank Of PatialaPublic Sector Bank
State Bank Of TravancorePublic Sector BankSyndicate BankPublic Sector Bank
Union Bank Of IndiaPublic Sector BankVijaya BankPublic Sector Bank
Yes Bank Ltd.Private Sector Bank

Upcoming Bank Holidays

2017 February 24 is a bank holiday in Chandigarh due to Mahashivratri.
2017 February 27 is a bank holiday in Sikkim due to Losar.
2017 March 03 is a bank holiday in Mizoram due to Chapchar Kut.
2017 March 12 is a bank holiday in Jammu And Kashmir due to Holi (Jammu Province Only).

 Quick IFSC Search
 Quick MICR Search
 Quick BSR Search
AB Bank Ltd ABN-AMRO Bank N.V Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank Airtel Payments Bank Limited
Allahabad Bank American Express Banking Corp Andhra Bank Antwerp Diamond Bank NV
AXIS Bank Bandhan Bank Limited Bank Of America Bank Of Bahrain & Kuwait B.S.C
Bank Of Baroda Bank Of Ceylon Bank Of India Bank Of Maharashtra
Bank Of Nova Scotia Bank Of Tokyo Mitsubishi Limited Barclays Bank Bharatiya Mahila Bank
BNP Paribas Calyon Bank Canara Bank Catholic Syrian Bank Limited
Central Bank Of India Chinatrust Commercial Bank Limited Citi Bank City Union Bank Limited
Corporation Bank DBS Bank Ltd DCB Bank Limited Dena Bank
Deutsche Bank Dhanalakshmi Bank Equitas Small Finance Bank Limited Exim Bank Export Import Bank Of India
ICICI Bank IDBI Bank IDFC Bank Limited Indian Bank
Indian Overseas Bank IndusInd Bank Jammu And Kashmir Bank Limited JP Morgan Bank
JSC VTB Bank Karnataka Bank Limited Karur Vysya Bank Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited
Krung Thai Bank Public Co. Ltd Laxmi Vilas Bank Mashreqbank Psc Mizuho Corporate Bank Limited
Oman International Bank SAOG Oriental Bank Of Commerce Punjab And Sind Bank Punjab National Bank
RBL Bank Limited SBM Bank Mauritius Limited Shinhan Bank Societe Generale
Sonali Bank South Indian Bank Standard Chartered Bank State Bank Of Hyderabad
State Bank Of Patiala State Bank Of Bikaner And Jaipur State Bank Of India State Bank Of Mysore
State Bank Of Travancore Syndicate Bank Tamilnad Mercantile Bank Limited The Nainital Bank Limited
UBS AG UCO Bank Union Bank Of India United Bank Of India
Vijaya Bank Yes Bank Limited