Bank Holiday List for Lok Sabha Election 1 June 2024

By Team CodeForBanks | May 27, 2024

The 2024 general elections will be held in 7 phases. The first phase was held on April 19 and the last phase will be held on June 1. Approximately 97 crore people out of a population of 140 crore people are eligible to vote.

First PhaseApril 19
Second PhaseApril 26
Third PhaseMay 7
Fourth PhaseMay 13
Fifth PhaseMay 20
Sixth PhaseMay 25
Seventh PhaseJune 1

Date of counting of votes will be held on June 4.

Date of Counting4th June 2024
Date before which Election shall be completed6th June 2024
All About Baroda UP Bank Tractor Loan

Out of the 543 Lok Sabha seats of the 18th Lok Sabha, 412 seats are for general candidates, 84 seats are reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates and 47 seats for Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidates.

Every Indian citizen above 18 years of age is entitled to vote in India and exercise the constitutional right to vote. The current Lok Sabha's term will end on June 16, 2024 and a new House must be formed before that.

Number of Polling Phases for States/UTs

States/UTs Polling PhasesNumber of States/UTsNames of States/UTs
One Polling Phase22

Arunachal Pradesh, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Andhra Pradesh, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Kerala, Lakshdweep, Ladakh, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Puducherry, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Punjab, Telangana and Uttarakhand

Two Polling Phases4Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan and Tripura
Three Polling Phases2Assam and Chhattisgarh
Four Polling Phases3Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh and Odisha
Five Polling Phases2Maharashtra and Jammu & Kashmir
Seven Polling Phases3Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal

Polling will begin at 7 am and end at 6 pm, however, those in line by 6 pm can still vote. The seventh phase of polling is to be held on Saturday June 1, 2024 which will cover 904 candidates which are contesting in the following 57 of the 543 parliamentary constituencies in 7 States and 1 Union territory. These are,

Bihar, Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

List of cities where seventh phase of polling is to be held on Saturday June 1, 2024

Lok Sabha elections 2024 phase 7 constituencies are,

Name of StateSeatsParliamentary Constituency
Bihar8 out of 40 seatsNalanda, Patna Sahib, Pataliputra, Arrah, Buxar, Sasaram, Karakat and Jahanabad
Chandigarh1 out of 1 seatChandigarh
Himachal Pradesh4 out of 4 seatsKangra, Mandi, Hamirpur and Shimla
Jharkhand3 out of 15 seatsGodda, Dumka and Rajmahal
Odisha6 out of 21 seatsMayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara and Jagatsinhpur
Punjab13 out of 13 seats

Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Anandpur Sahib, Ludhiana, Fatehgarh Sahib, Faridkot, Firozpur, Bathinda, Sangrur and Patiala

Uttar Pradesh 13 out of 80 seats

Varanasi, Mahrajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushinagar, Deoria, Bansgaon, Ghosi, Ghazipur, Ballia, Salempur, Chandauli, Mirzapur and Robertsganj

West Bengal 9 out of 42 seats

Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin and Kolkata Uttar

RBI Bank Holiday List for Lok Sabha Election 1 June 2024

Presently, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) holiday calendar does not show any holiday on June 1 towards seventh phase of Lok Sabha General Elections 2024.

Note that the bank-related operations can still be done online through mobile or net banking.

Public Holiday for Lok Sabha Election 1 June 2024

As schools and colleges in India serve as polling booths so they would remain closed on the respective dates of voting. The state governments of those states, where elections are to be held, are also expected to declare public holiday on June 1.

However, some of the states where paid/ public holiday on 1 June 2024 is declared (in the districts/ cities where the elections are held) are,

  • Bihar
  • Chandigarh
  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Jharkhand
  • Odisha
  • Punjab
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • West Bengal

However, there will be a holiday in the offices and work places in all those Lok Sabha constituencies which will go to polls on June 1, 2024 because as per Section 135 'B' of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, there is a provision for granting paid leave to the employees on the day of voting.

General Elections in the Following States and Union Territories on June 1, 2024

Bihar, Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

How to Download Voter Slip?

A Voter Slip or 'Voter Information Slip (VIS)' is an official slip issued by the Election Commission of India (ECI) before an election which contains the essential information of a voter such as a name, age, gender, assembly constituency, polling station location and the date and time of the poll. It also contains a QR code for quick verification of voter details. It's physical copy is sent to the voter's address as appeared in his voter's card. For downloading Voter Slip Online through ECI's website, you need to perform following steps,

  • Step 1: Visit the website
  • Step 2: Enter your Registered Mobile Number/ Email ID/ EPIC Number & Password
  • Step 3: Enter Captcha
  • Step 4: Click on the button "Request OTP"
  • Step 5: An OTP will be sent on your Registered Mobile Number
  • Step 6: Enter the OTP for verification
  • Step 7: You will be logged in
  • Step 8: Click on the "Download E-EPIC" option.
  • Step 9: Enter your EPIC number and Captcha
  • Step 10: An OTP will be sent on your Registered Mobile Number
  • Step 11: Enter the OTP for verification
  • Step 12: After verification, click on the "Download E-EPIC" button and E-EPIC will get downloaded

Around 66.14%, 66.71%, 65.68%, 67.71%, 58% and 63.40% of the total electors voted in the first, second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth phases of elections held on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20 and May 25 respectively. West Bengal recorded an magnificent turnout at 78%, the highest among all the states and Union Territories in sixth phase held on May 25.

Polling for 486 of the 543 Lok Sabha seats was over by the end of phase 6 polling on Saturday, May 25.