Bank Holiday List for Lok Sabha Election 20 May 2024

By Team CodeForBanks | May 14, 2024

The 2024 general elections will be held in 7 phases. The first phase was held on April 19 and the last phase will be held on June 1. Approximately 97 crore people out of a population of 140 crore people are eligible to vote.

First PhaseApril 19
Second PhaseApril 26
Third PhaseMay 7
Fourth PhaseMay 13
Fifth PhaseMay 20
Sixth PhaseMay 25
Seventh PhaseJune 1

Date of counting of votes will be held on June 4.

Date of Counting4th June 2024
Date before which Election shall be completed6th June 2024
All About Baroda UP Bank Tractor Loan

Out of the 543 Lok Sabha seats of the 18th Lok Sabha, 412 seats are for general candidates, 84 seats are reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates and 47 seats for Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidates.

Every Indian citizen above 18 years of age is entitled to vote in India and exercise the constitutional right to vote. The current Lok Sabha's term will end on June 16, 2024 and a new House must be formed before that.

Number of Polling Phases for States/UTs

States/UTs Polling PhasesNumber of States/UTsNames of States/UTs
One Polling Phase22

Arunachal Pradesh, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Andhra Pradesh, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Kerala, Lakshdweep, Ladakh, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Puducherry, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Punjab, Telangana and Uttarakhand

Two Polling Phases4Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan and Tripura
Three Polling Phases2Assam and Chhattisgarh
Four Polling Phases3Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh and Odisha
Five Polling Phases2Maharashtra and Jammu & Kashmir
Seven Polling Phases3Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal

The fifth phase of polling is to be held on Monday May 20, 2024 which will cover following 49 of the 543 parliamentary constituencies in 8 states and Union territories. These are,

Bihar, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Ladakh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

List of cities where fifth phase of polling is to be held on Monday May 20, 2024

Name of StateSeatsParliamentary Constituency
Bihar5 out of 40 seatsSitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran and Hajipur
Jammu and Kashmir 1 out of 5 seatsBaramulla
Jharkhand3 out of 15 seatsChatra, Kodarma and Hazaribagh
Ladakh1 out of 1 seatLadakh
Maharashtra 13 out of 48 seats

Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Kalyan, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Thane, Mumbai North, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai South-Central and Mumbai South

Odisha5 out of 21 seatsBargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Aska
Uttar Pradesh 14 out of 80 seats

Mohanlalganj, Lucknow, Amethi, Rae Bareli, Jalaun, Jhansi, Hamirpur, Banda, Kaushambi, Barabanki, Faizabad, Kaiserganj and Gonda

West Bengal 7 out of 42 seatsBangaon, Barrackpur, Howrah, Uluberia, Srerampur, Hooghly and Arambagh

RBI Bank Holiday List for Lok Sabha Election 20 May 2024

Presently, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) holiday calendar shows that banks will remain closed on May 20 in following places towards Lok Sabha General Elections 2024,

  • Belapur
  • Mumbai

However, bank holiday has not been declared by the RBI yet for all the other cities where polling is to be held on Monday, May 20, 2024.

Public Holiday for Lok Sabha Election 20 May 2024

As schools and colleges in India serve as polling booths so they would remain closed on the respective dates of voting. The state governments of those states, where elections are to be held, are also expected to declare public holiday on May 20.

However, some of the states where paid/ public holiday on 20 May 2024 is declared (in the districts/ cities where the elections are held) are,

  • Bihar
  • Maharashtra
  • Ladakh
  • Uttar Pradesh

However, there will be a holiday in the offices and work places in all those Lok Sabha constituencies which will go to polls on May 20, 2024 because as per Section 135 'B' of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, there is a provision for granting paid leave to the employees on the day of voting.

General Elections in the Following States and Union Territories on May 20, 2024

Bihar, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Ladakh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

How to Download Voter Slip?

A Voter Slip or 'Voter Information Slip (VIS)' is an official slip issued by the Election Commission of India (ECI) before an election which contains the essential information of a voter such as a name, age, gender, assembly constituency, polling station location and the date and time of the poll. It also contains a QR code for quick verification of voter details. It's physical copy is sent to the voter's address as appeared in his voter's card. For downloading Voter Slip Online through ECI's website, you need to perform following steps,

  • Step 1: Visit the website
  • Step 2: Enter your Registered Mobile Number/ Email ID/ EPIC Number & Password
  • Step 3: Enter Captcha
  • Step 4: Click on the button "Request OTP"
  • Step 5: An OTP will be sent on your Registered Mobile Number
  • Step 6: Enter the OTP for verification
  • Step 7: You will be logged in
  • Step 8: Click on the "Download E-EPIC" option.
  • Step 9: Enter your EPIC number and Captcha
  • Step 10: An OTP will be sent on your Registered Mobile Number
  • Step 11: Enter the OTP for verification
  • Step 12: After verification, click on the "Download E-EPIC" button and E-EPIC will get downloaded

Around 66.14%, 66.71%, 65.68% and 67.71% of the total electors voted in the first, second, third and fourth phases of elections held on April 19, April 26, May 7 and May 13 respectively. West Bengal recorded an magnificent turnout at 75.94%, the highest among all the states and Union Territories in fourth phase held on May 13.

The remaining two phases of polling will be held on May 25 and June 1.